Week 9 Thing 18

OK. We are back from Christmas Holiday and working on some more 23 Things in Cairo. Ann and I spent an hour yesterday looking at wiki stuff. We looked at PBWiki and I added my blog to Favorite Blogs. Strangely it come into the site above the heading Favorite Blogs and in very large type. Today we were back there for Ann to add her blog. We copied and pasted mine into its proper place below the heading – but still in large print. I’m speaking loudly in print, I guess.

Today we looked at Wetpaint and Mediawiki. Thank you for setting them up in similar formats!! It certainly helps me. At Wetpaint we worked together to add a post about the book our book group will read this month in Cairo. We looked at Droplets and Site To- Do List (overwhelming for me) and were mystified by the Easy edit button. It gave us a word processing toolbar but we couldn’t find a place to add text?? I’m sure it was a paper bag, but we couldn’t fight our way out of it.

We looked at favorite vacation spots. I’d just written a little piece about my Christmas in Vermont that I’d sent out to my family and friends – with photos embedded (a new skill!). I made a new page under Favorite Vacations and copied and pasted my Christmas piece into it. Unfortunately, the pictures did not come into the page with the text. I’m not sure yet how to make that happen.

It is fun to be back working at this even though much of it is baffling to me.

Leave a comment